The participative nature of the ACQF development process is based on two complementary elements: a) systematic networking and peer learning activities with stakeholders and practitioners from all sectors of education and training, NQF bodies, social partners, and experts; b) dialogue and consultation with the ACQF Advisory Group, composed of 40 representatives from regional and national institutions, and relevant international organisations.

The institutions represented in the ACQF Advisory Group are as follows:

National level

  • Kenyan Qualifications Authority, Kenya
  • Mauritius Qualifications Authority, Mauritius
  • South Africa Qualifications Authority, South Africa
  • Ministry of Education Vocational Education Higher Education and Scientific Research, Morocco
  • Federal Technical and Vocational Education and Training Agency, Ethiopia
  • Ministry of Higher Education, Direction of University Accreditations and Quality, Cameroon
  • Autorité Nationale d’Assurance Qualité de l’Enseignement Supérieur, Senegal
  • National Council on Quality Assurance in Higher Education, Mozambique
  • National Authority for Quality Assurance and Accreditation of Education, Egypt

Other participating countries: Angola, Ghana, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Tunisia

Regional Economic Communities (REC)

  • Economic Community of West African States
  • East African Community
  • Southern African Development Community
  • Intergovernmental Authority on Development
  • Economic Community of Central African States
  • Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa

Regional organisations

  • African Curriculum Association (ACA)
  • Africa Federation of Teaching Regulatory Authorities (AFTRA)
  • African Council for Distance Education (ACDE)
  • African Early Childhood Network (AfECN)
  • African Qualifications Verification Network (AQVN)
  • Arab Network for Quality Assurance in Higher Education
  • Association for the Development of Education in Africa
  • Association of African Universities (AAU)
  • Association of Arab Universities (AArU)
  • Association of West African Universities
  • Association of Technical Universities and Polytechnics in Africa (ATUPA)
  • Conseil Africain et Malgache pour l’Enseignement Supérieur (CAMES)
  • Forum for African Women Educationalists
  • Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA)
  • Southern African Regional Universities Association
  • CESA Cluster TVET
  • CESA Cluster Curriculum

Social partners and students

  • Business Africa
  • Organisation of African Trade Union Unity
  • All African Students Union

International organisations

  • ILO, UNESCO, Unesco-IICBA, European Union Delegation to African Union